The Long War

1 08 2014

If you still see me pop up on your feeds now and then, you probably are aware of at least two things about Thade.

1. Thade just got married; there is now a Ms. Thade.

2. Thade loves XCOM.

XCOM:EU was nearly the perfect game, improved dramatically by the EW expansion.  Often people ask me a question about XCOM, which is “Have you tried the Long War mod?” Only as of last night can I say “Yes.”

I had very little interest in using any mods because 1. I was really enjoying the core game and 2. XCOM’s mods tend to be pretty high maintenance…but now that we’re late in EW’s dev cycle (i.e. patches will be rare) and this particular mod comes with an installer, the barriers to my trying it out had evaporated.

Thade! You’re like a software programmer guy, right? Why would high maintenance deter you?

I don’t like to mix work with play. Seriously, when I get home, I just want to play. But, I’m about to break that rule too, as I’ve been reading up on how to set up customized default armor skins for my troopers, so they hit the ground looking snazzy, and I don’t need to manually adjust them after the first mission. LW gives us 24 operatives to start (as opposed to 14) so doing it manually is getting annoying.

Long War is amazing. There is a non-zero chance I’ll Youtube a bit of my yapping about it (you know, for the two of you that still know I exist) but you can skip the wait for me and watch the truly brilliant Cmdr. Beagle tear through Xenos like it’s his job. (Because, right now, it kind of is.)

Wait. You got married. How was that?

Epic, thanks for asking. 🙂 I even Rick-rolled my own wedding. It went over well. Also, we went to Kauai for a week; it was incredible. Go.

Are you still playing Wildstar?

Yes, but it’s taken a sullen back seat to the glory that is XCOM: War Within. I got to run a bit of an instance last night with two of my friends, right up until the point that it bugged out and we couldn’t proceed anymore. Early MMOs…what you gonna do? My feelings haven’t changed but they’ve tempered; especially with this new life breathed into XCOM. I should say that they really enjoy it and are urging me to stick with it…and I understand that it all is supposed to open up post level-20…and I’m lv16 now. I’ll give it a while longer, maybe a few more instances before I make another call.

Also, I drifted away from Dark Souls 2 without completing it…but it was amazing. I recommend that game, if, you know, you’re like me and you live for Ironman mode in XCOM.

Will you ever live-stream XCOM?

Nah. Well. Maybe. Will you watch me?

No.

I’m glad we had this talk.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

