The “longer you play, the awesomer you are” buff.

21 03 2012

Check this out.

I really like that the buff maintains itself provided you do not respec (to discourage frequent respecing); not sure I like that it goes away when  you log out. That’s almost a direct reward for never logging out.

In D2, there were “Mephiston runs” and “Council runs” and “Diablo runs”…these are game instances that are created and exist only long enough that the creator(s) can quick-travel to the location of the boss that the game instance is named for and farm em for drops. Rinse, repeat.

“We don’t want repeatedly running specific three-minute chunks of the game to be the most efficient way to acquire gear for your character”

So, you don’t want us to do Meph runs anymore? I mean, I like that idea, and I can see the “leave the game” thing really putting a dampener on it. I feel more fancy dynamic events are a better way, but I bet you’ll have those too. (Ever the optimist, Thade.)

Blizzard will not have a table at PAX (I don’t see one, nor do I see an Activision booth) so they aim to continue their weird campaign of “We know you love us” silence. Thing is, I’m not sure I love you anymore; definitely not in that pre-WoW way I did with the original Starcraft and Diablo 1/2. If D3 flops, it’s not going to kill you…but it will mean that Titan – whatever it is – will be your last chance.

What are you doing in there? What are you hiding?

Bee Tee Dubs, if you add giant panda bears to Diablo 3, I’ll lead the raid on your offices myself.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

