Hey Mikey, I think he likes it.

27 01 2012

The scope is staggering. There’s really no way for me to do it justice (the valid hedge that one cannot possibly review an MMO after an evening of play applies) so I will simply ramble in a way that befits a rookie pilot.

There is no universal “bank”. Your ships have cargo holds, the hangars at stations you dock in have storage area as well…and they are location specific. If you leave something in the hangar at Station A and you are at Station B 4 jumps away…you need to jump all the way back to Station A to get that thing. That goes for the deliverables for courier missions, crap you find, or crap you buy on the market that is being sold at Station Where You Are Not Right Now. Fortunately, you have an “Assets” button that tells you where everything you own is. You can, of course, check the Market (“auction house”) to see what the going prices on that thing are. Maybe you want to sell it.

I did insure my ship. Since I have a spare Atron  (mission reward I did not expect, which lies in pieces in my current “home station” hangar) and a replacement is pretty cheap (at like 30-40k) I insured only enough to replace the mods; not really necessary (all starter stuff is cheap and missions cover it easily, it seems) but really just to see how it worked. I did the same thing with a Mining Drone. The rookie channel people very nicely told me “Mining Drones are useless” but  I wanted to try it anyway and it was pretty cheap. Trained Drones I, trained Mining Drones I, threw it in the Drone Bay, and eventually found the Drone Bay controls on the Overview. The drone and I mined away and I was sure to get him to Return to the Bay before I warped off without him.

Good Rookie, thade. Good Rookie.

The UI is packed full of information and the font is small. It needs to be small to fit everything; all of the information is very useful. Things started to seem less daunting last night when, after a few laps for missions, I was able to get to my self-declared “home hanger” by recalling the names of the systems/jump gates necessary to get there; setting the destination was not necessary. That said, setting a destination does make navigation a cinch. Find the yellow-marked item in the Overview, Warp to Zero, Jump; repeat until you end up at the target (and either fight, sift through garbage, or dock).

The game is pretty. Moving the ship is a bit unintuitive (you can control the speed, you can move in a direction you double click, and you can Align to, Orbit (at N distance), Keep at Distance (N), or simply Approach (run right up into the face of) any object in space. The tutorials recommend Orbiting your target at optimal weapons range; I have no idea how well that will work in PVP (I suspect not very well) and so I’m actively considering how to hotkey EVERYTHING in a more convenient way (i.e. leveraging my Razer mouse). I think, right now, weapons and moving should all be on those keys. You can’t simply “go forward” or “turn right” so far as I can tell. All of that is handled with the mouse and context menu.

I did know enough not to open the yellow cargo containers sitting around in rookie space; the ones conspicuously owned by beefy-looking players who were also colored yellow and had negative security ratings…members of 0.0 corps, whatever that actually means. Those that didn’t have owners obviously present I felt were obviously watched over by cloaked meanies. A hazing-style trap for people new to the game.

I did my homework.

I haven’t joined a corp yet, but that’s the goal. I’m thinking EVE Uni, even if it is too good to be true; meet some people, make some contacts. The barrier for entry here is, I think, 30 some odd NPC missions…and the rewards for them have been good so far (I have like a half dozen ships already) and – hey – I’m learning how to fly this thing.

I like it.

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 01 2012
Zyref

In pvp, orbiting your enemy at optimal weapons range works fine, but you have to keep a few things in mind.

1) they’re moving. If they’re moving much faster than you, it ends up them orbiting you, and you changing the center position of that orbit frequently. The reverse is true, if you’re moving faster than them.
1.5) two really fast ships will look like flies spinning around each other. Whoever is slightly faster will pick a direction, and the two ships will spiral rapidly away from where you are.
2) the goal is to keep your side facing the enemy’s guns. Not approaching or running away, since head on you take more damage. They will try to get you to charge.
3) if they’re trying to get away from you, they’ll try to use your speed and direction to sling shot you away. You might need to compensate by changing direction.
4) When you’re in pvp in Eve, adrenaline is pumping very very hard. It is sometimes hard to think when this happens. They’re likely to be going through the same, especially if they’re risking an expensive ship, or if they’re losing the fight.
5) think in 3D.

Join SynCaine’s corp 😉
We’ll help you get started with whatever goals you have.

27 01 2012
thade

So as not to out our in-game identities to nefarious parties. I’ll use the email address provided with your comment to contact you. If that’s okay. 😉

27 01 2012
Zyref

That is fine.
SynCaine has a recruitment post on his blog though, which you made a post to today 😉

Leave a Reply

